Why Oprah and I Are Twins

Photography by Stephanie Olani Reyes

When thrifting, you would be considered lucky if you found a good name brand or designer piece. With my phenomenal thrifting skills, hard work, dedication, motivation, intelligence and any other adjective you would use to describe Oprah, I’ve been able to find quite a few pieces on my adventures. (If you didn’t already know, a lot of people compare me to Oprah for some reason. And by a lot of people I mean just myself.) I was staying in Pittsburgh last summer while completing an internship when I found this Diane Von Furstenberg  blouse at a vintage consignment shop . It was a little pricey for a thrift shop find at $16, but it was totally worth it. Yes, I realize it is weird looking and odd, but I still love it as I would my first born child. Have I gotten made fun of when I wear this shirt? Totally. But at least I look killah when I do. It’s one of those pieces that I think is great on it’s own so it doesn’t need much accessorizing, simple jeans and heels will do. Check out these awesome shots below where you can see some great close ups of my cold ears, hair tie marks on my wrist, and crooked teeth…just like Oprah.

A lot of my friends often ask how I find such great pieces at thrift shops.  One of the biggest keys is location.  With thrift shops there is always a Goodwill and Salvation Army nearby. Usually you can find a few good pieces there if you are in a good area. When I’m home from school, I go to a Goodwill about 40 minutes from my house, but I usually find some great brands there so for me its worth it. The store is located in an area that is known for it’s wealth so they don’t mind giving away a few good brands with the rest of what they consider junk. Another big thing  people sometimes forget about is consignment shops. A lot of times, people don’t do their research.  Even just in your local area you may have an awesome consignment shop you never knew about just because you never heard of it. There is Plato’s closet of course where I’ve been able to find some great stuff, but I’m talking about the real consignment shops. When in Pittsburgh, I was on the prowl.  I ended up finding this absolutely amazing local consignment shop with a lot of awesome name brands. My friend was able to score some Alice and Olivia pants for $11! At the same shop, I ended up finding what is now known as the smurf jacket.  Don’t worry, I won’t leave the smurf jacket open to interpretation.  There will be a post on the smurf jacket, Girl Scout promise.

DSC_0885

DSC_0897

DSC_0908

DSC_0915

DSC_0928

Top: Vintage Diane Von Furstenberg

Jeans: American Eagle Outfitters (cut with my handy skills to make them cropped)

Shoes: Express, clearance of course

Wallet: Michael Kors (another gift from the boyfriend)

4 comments

  1. Everyone is loving your blog and can’t wait to read the next one. Great job on ending with some anticipation of what is coming next!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

