Snip Snip Here, Snip Snip There : Fashion Challenge

Photography by Stephanie Olani Reyes

What is a dress without a matching vest?! It is nothing, that’s what it is. It is exactly why this dress and vest number is simply undeniably… horrible. Thank you to my friend Amanda S. for picking out this trend-setting piece for 2014. You, ladies and gentlemen, can find this, or something similar, it at your local thrift store for $4.50. Make sure you check out the football shoulder pads as well!

DSC_0803

DSC_0807

I was utterly stumped for this one and initially wasn’t too thrilled with the print but it ended up growing on me. With ethnic prints becoming such a huge trend I figured I could make it work…but that is for next week! There will be two parts to this transformation as I had so much to work with.

The first alteration was a simple one, but I ended up liking it a million times more than I thought I would. So if you can’t see, the outfit is in fact a dress. The white top is sewn into the ethnic skirt.  I detached the top with a few simple cuts and took out the shoulder pads. I don’t know what is up with me and the crop tops lately, I guess I’ve just really been feelin ’em. Also, I am not usually one to wear a crop top without high-rise pants or high-rise shorts, but since they are still stuck at home while I am stuck at school, you will have to bear with me.  Next up, some research! I knew I wanted some cut outs. Hollah at ya girl Karla who is simply amazing. She makes me want to buy the  simplest, chicest fashion. I can only hope to one day be as cool as her. So I just sort of went for it, and hoped for the best, eyeballing it the whole way.

I definitely want to see if I can pick up some more plain tees and sweatshirts to do some more cool cut outs because I’m obsessed.

Any of you blog lovers out there, I just found out about this site called “Bloglovin”. I kid you not, it will make your life so much more organized! It allows you to follow your favorite blogs all in the same spot, giving you one newsfeed with all your favorite bloggers newest posts. It can organize them for you by ones you have or haven’t read and you can also “favorite” articles and discover more new blogs. Here is a link to my page on Bloglovin that you can follow me on!

DSC_0085

DSC_0109

DSC_0083

DSC_0086

DSC_0110

DSC_0111

Top: Upcycled from Goodwill

Pants: American Eagle Outfitters, similar here

Shoes: Target

Necklace: Urban Outfitters, similar here and here

Twelve Pack:  Courtesy of Rugby

3 comments

Leave a Reply

